I got this today. Same Old, Same Old. As I tell folks on my website http://www.Scam-Email.com Always put your cursor over the link FIRST. This one goes to Talkactive.net using several subdomain extensions to make it appear it is legit. IN THE END, Paypal.com will not ask you for your password, in an email or on a website. The only time you are asked for your password is when you sign in. The catch is that they make it appear that you are on their website signing in by using a copy of the site. I know that a lot of people have quit using Paypal.com due to the problems with spam scam email. That is a shame as I have found Paypal.com to be a great way to get payments without having to pay exhorbitant fees, like on Google’s Service which just raised its rates despite the lowering of interest rates.
NEVER click on a link in an email to go to an account for your bank, or for online banking services.
XXXXXXXXXXXX Scam Email Below XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Dear valued PayPal® member:
Due to concerns, for the safety and integrity of the paypal
account we have issued this warning message.
It has come to our attention that your PayPal® account information needs to be
updated as part of our continuing commitment to protect your account and to
reduce the instance of fraud on our website. If you could please take 5-10 minutes
out of your online experience and update your personal records you will not run into
any future problems with the online service.
However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension.
Please update your records on or before March 26, 2009.
Once you have updated your account records your paypal account
service will not be interrupted and will continue as normal.
To update your PayPal® records click on the following link:
http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run (Editors Note: This was the link, only it went to another website NOT to the link on the email. Always hold the cursor on the link and wait for the link to show. IF it does not match your banks letter for letter it is NOT going to the bank. It can also have a subdomain that appears to be the bank but ends up going to another site.. example: http://web335124.web32.talkactive.net/webscr.php The bold letters are the actual destination. http://www.paypal.web333.subscriber.talkactive.net is another example of a link going to another domain that is made to appear like it is paypal.com.. Again the bold section is the REAL domain that it would go to.
Thank You.
PayPal® UPDATE TEAM
Accounts Management As outlined in our User Agreement, PayPal® will
periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements.
Visit our Privacy Policy and User Agreement if you have any questions.
http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=p/gen/ua/policy_privacy-outside
XXXXXXXXX Please check out the brochures below..XXXXXXXX
Going on a Vacation would be a good way to help the economy and ordering a brochure would help me too.




Filed under: Paypal.com scams, bank scams



[...] Web Design TB added an interesting post today on Tired Old Paypal.com Scam – Energizer Bunny of Scam EmailsHere’s a small readingNEVER click on a link in an email to go to an account for your bank, or for online banking services. [...]
I’m new to this blog. Apologize for asking this though, but to OP…
Do you know if this can be true;
http://www.bluestickers.info/ringtones.php ?
it came off http://ringtonecarrier.com
Thanks
I do not understand the question… Can what be true? If I blog on it, it is a scam period.
I will say if something could be possible, in the blog, like with the TripAdvisor.com Scam blog. I think they are a scam for the most part. Their site has no protections against malicious posts by competitors, or others. They have the ability to seriously impact a business and have no way of providing an honest assessment of the site, and refuse to remove proven false reports.